"Zero Tolerance" Underage Drunk Driving Laws
Zero Tolerance provides that no person under the age of 21 shall operate a motor vehicle with any bodily alcohol content. No specific amount is required, and the alcohol need not affect one's driving.
The first offense of the Zero Tolerance Driving Law is a misdemeanor punishable by one or more of the following:
- a fine of up to $250
- community service of up to 360 hours
The Secretary of State will suspend the operator's license for 30 days and a restricted license is available. Four points will be assessed against the driver's record.
Drunk Driving Attorney Serving the Kalamazoo and the Southwest Michigan Area
Drunk driving is a common mistake that many young people make. In 2011, police made 100 drunk driving arrests on the Western Michigan University campus alone. Each school has a student code of conduct, and to prevent such an arrest from derailing you—or your child's—future, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney. At the Kalamazoo-based law firm Hills at Law, P.C., our attorneys have more than 100 years of combined criminal defense experience.
Underage Drunk Driving Allegations? Contact Hills Law Today
If you’re facing criminal charges, or have questions involving your child and student codes of conduct check out our College Questions Page or contact Hills at Law, P.C. immediately at 866-243-7410. Our office is located in Kalamazoo near Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University.