Felon in Possession
Felon in Possession of a Firearm in Michigan
Michigan law imposes several restrictions on convicted felons, including the loss of gun privileges. While it is possible for felons to have their Michigan gun rights restored, there is a waiting period involved (three to five years, depending on the underlying conviction) and several other requirements that must be met under the law. If you are a convicted felon and believe you may be eligible to have your Michigan gun rights restored, our firm can assist you in that process—give us a call.
Until a convicted felon’s gun rights have been properly restored, Michigan law prohibits them from possessing a gun. Doing so could result in a new felony charge called felon in possession of a firearm. The maximum possible penalty for felon in possession of a firearm is 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. Under the statute, “possession” means any of the following:
Not only is it illegal for a convicted felon to possess a firearm in Michigan, but it is also illegal for a convicted felon to possess ammunition. Ammunition can be “possessed” separately from the firearm, like in a box, or it can be possessed inside the firearm itself. Evidence that a convicted felon actually fired a gun can be enough to prove both felon in possession of a firearm and felon in possession of ammunition at the same time. The maximum possible penalty for felon in possession of ammunition is 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
ACCUSED OF A GUN CRIME? CONTACT A HILLS LAW ATTORNEY TODAY
Felon in possession of a firearm and felon in possession of ammunition are serious charges that could come with long term consequences. If you or someone you know is faced with these charges, it is important to have an attorney who understands Michigan gun laws in your corner. Our team of attorneys are well versed in Michigan gun law and are ready to assist with these tough matters.