On October 31, 2010 a series of Amendments to Michigan’s Motor Vehicle Code went into effect, commonly known as Michigan’s “Super Drunk” Law. Under this new legislation an individual who is operating a motor vehicle with a Bodily Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.17 or more faces a vast array of mandatory penalties, irrespective of whether the individual has committed a previous drunk driving offense. Some of these penalties are:
- 45 day “hard” driver’s license suspension, followed by a 320 day restricted license if the individual places a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) on the vehicle at his/her cost;
- $700 in Court Fines;
- Alcohol Treatment and Prevention Programs;
- $1000 per year Driver’s Responsibility Fee enforced by the Secretary of State for two years; and
- The possibility of up to 180 days in Jail.
Due to the mandatory nature of the penalties, which can effect a person’s employment and general livelihood, the decision you make are critical. In the coming weeks, Hills at Law, P.C. will try to explain some of the issues an individual who decides to fight this type of case faces, and provide you and your loved ones with some necessary insight.
Michael D. Hills